

# SELECTION OF BILLS COMMITTEE

# **REPORT NO. 6 – 22 AUGUST 2023**

#### MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE

The Hon Bob Nanva MLC, Chair

The Hon Chris Rath MLC, Deputy Chair

The Hon Mark Banasiak MLC

Mr Jeremy Buckingham MLC

The Hon Mark Buttigieg MLC

The Hon Wes Fang MLC

Ms Sue Higginson MLC

The Hon Emma Hurst MLC

The Hon Cameron Murphy MLC

The Hon Rod Roberts MLC

The Hon John Ruddick MLC

# Secretariat to the committee:

Mr Stephen Frappell, Clerk Assistant—Procedure (02 9230 3594)

Mr Stewart Smith, Director—Procedure (02 9230 3750)

Ms Noora Hijazi, Senior Council Officer—Procedure (02 9230 2331)

The Selection of Bills Committee met on Tuesday 22 August 2023 to consider whether the following bills be referred to a standing committee for inquiry and report:

- Crimes Amendment (Breaking and Entering) Bill 2023,
- Drug Misuse and Trafficking Amendment (Appointed Persons) Bill 2023 (not yet accompanied by a Statement of Public Interest),
- Electoral Funding Amendment Bill 2023 (accompanied by a Statement of Public Interest),
- Forestry Amendment (Timber Harvesting Safety Zones) Bill 2023,
- ICAC and LECC Legislation Amendment Bill 2023 (accompanied by a Statement of Public Interest),
- Revenue, Fines and Other Legislation Amendment Bill 2023 (not yet accompanied by a Statement of Public Interest), and
- Road Transport Amendment (Medicinal Cannabis) Bill 2023.

The committee makes the following recommendation: That the following bills not be referred to a standing committee for inquiry and report this day:

- (a) Crimes Amendment (Breaking and Entering) Bill 2023,
- (b) Drug Misuse and Trafficking Amendment (Appointed Persons) Bill 2023,
- (c) Electoral Funding Amendment Bill 2023,
- (d) Forestry Amendment (Timber Harvesting Safety Zones) Bill 2023,
- (e) ICAC and LECC Legislation Amendment Bill 2023,
- (f) Revenue, Fines and Other Legislation Amendment Bill 2023, and
- (g) Road Transport Amendment (Medicinal Cannabis) Bill 2023.

Bob Nanva MLC **Chair** 22 August 2023

#### 9 SELECTION OF BILLS COMMITTEE—REPORT

The Chair (Mr Nanva) tabled Report No. 6 of the Selection of Bills Committee, dated 22 August 2023.

Mr Nanva moved, according to standing order: That the following bills not be referred to a standing committee for inquiry and report this day:

- (a) Crimes Amendment (Breaking and Entering) Bill 2023,
- (b) Drug Misuse and Trafficking Amendment (Appointed Persons) Bill 2023,
- (c) Electoral Funding Amendment Bill 2023,
- (d) Forestry Amendment (Timber Harvesting Safety Zones) Bill 2023,
- (e) ICAC and LECC Legislation Amendment Bill 2023,
- (f) Revenue, Fines and Other Legislation Amendment Bill 2023, and
- (g) Road Transport Amendment (Medicinal Cannabis) Bill 2023.

Debate ensued.

Mr Rath moved: That the question be amended as follows:

- (1) Omit paragraph (c), and
- (2) Insert after paragraph (1):
  - "(2) That:
    - (a) the Electoral Funding Amendment Bill 2023 be referred to Portfolio Committee No. 1 Premier and Finance for inquiry and report, and
    - (b) the committee report by 11 September 2023."

Debate continued.

Question put: That the amendment of Mr Rath be agreed to.

The House divided.

Ayes	22
Noes	
Majority	3

#### **AYES**

Boyd Latham Munro Carter MacDonald Rath (teller) Cohn Maclaren-Jones Roberts Faehrmann Martin Ruddick Fang (teller) Merton **Taylor** Farlow Mihailuk Tudehope Farraway Mitchell Ward Higginson

### NOES

Banasiak Moriarty Houssos Murphy (teller) Borsak Hurst Nanva (teller) Buckingham Jackson Buttigieg Kaine Primrose D'Adam Lawrence Sharpe Donnelly Mookhey Suvaal Graham

Question resolved in the affirmative.

Original question, as amended, put and passed.